Last minute geek

last minute tech news from around the net

Friday, Nov 16th

Last update10:40:59 AM

You are here: English BoingBoing ibag Google admits it tracks users' location after they turn off location history

Google admits it tracks users' location after they turn off location history

User Rating: / 0
PoorBest 
A few days ago, the AP, working with Princeton University, demonstrated that Google tracked the location of users even after they disabled location tracking on their devices. Today they admitted it, reports the AP. It has now "clarified" its tracking policy; pray they do not "clarify" it further. SAN FRANCISCO -- Google has revised a help page that erroneously described how its "Location History" setting works, clarifying for users that it still tracks their location even if they turn the setting off. On Monday, an Associated Press investigation revealed that several Google apps and websites store user location even if users have turned off Location History. Google has not changed that practice. But its help page now states: "This setting does not affect other location services on your device." Business Insider's Sean Wolfe describes how to disable location tracking completely on iPhone and Android. What a headache.

Read all
Comment Policy:
We pre-moderate any comments and welcome all kinds of thoughts, supportive, dissenting, critical or otherwise. We delete or censor comments that are:

* abusive
* off-topic
* contain personal attacks, or against any company or organization
* promote hate of any kind
* use excessively foul language
* is blatantly spam or advertising

We do not discriminate based on the person who is posting, and we never censor comments for political or ideological reasons. We never delete an appropriate comment because we disagree with its viewpoint or ideology, and we never publish an inappropriate comment because we agree with or support its viewpoint or ideology.


Attention spammers: we manually approve all comments. Spamming and blatant advertising will NOT be published on this site and is deleted immediately, you've been warned, do not waste your time here.

Add comment

Security code
Refresh